The University of Minnesota

The University of Minnesota, one of the top three publicly funded research institutions in the United States, is located in the heart of the Twin Cities. Founded in 1851 by the Minnesota Territorial Legislature, the University is unusual in combining a state land-grant institution with a major metropolitan research university. This provides an extraordinary concentration of intellectual resources. Our 4,000 faculty include members of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine, plus the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, among other bodies. Current and former faculty have won Guggenheim Fellowships, MacArthur Fellowships (“genius grants"), Nobel Prizes, and other significant honors. The University of Minnesota is a global leader in graduate education with 16,300 graduate and professional students. The mission of the Graduate School at the University of Minnesota is to ensure quality in graduate education, advocate for the academic and professional development of graduate students, advance intellectual communication and scholarship across disciplines, and promote cultural diversity, scholarly integrity, and inclusivity.